Resource Number: 8Historic Building Name: Colorado Springs Boys' ClubCurrent Building Name: Club BuildingAddress: 105 E. Moreno Ave./605 S. Tejon St.Architectural Style: Modern MovementsYear Built: 1907, 1938
Click for more information
Click for more photos
The Colorado Boys Club was one of the earliest such organizations in the country, founded in 1892-93 to provide positive activities and education for local boys. It predated the national organization, and was supported by the local branch of a charitable organization, the King's Daughters. Additional support was provided by the Community Chest and local patrons. The early board of directors were all women (members of the King's Daughters); a visit in 1912 by an officer of the national Boy's Club of America was "horrified" to discover this circumstance, which prompted changes to the composition of the board.
F. R. Hastings drew plans for the original building in 1899, but construction did not occur until 1907. Membership grew rapidly, and in 1910, Mr. and Mrs. Spencer Penrose donated a $5,000 brick gymnasium, located at the rear of the property.
A large, anonymous donation in 1938 prompted a sizeable renovation and expansion project, nearly doubling its size and refacing the building with the same brick as its southern neighbor, the Colorado Springs Day Nursery. Edward L. Bunts, architect for Palmer High School, First Christian Church and First Methodist Church, was the architect. National Register eligible.