City of Colorado Springs / Mayor's Office / News

Mayor Bach announces RTA Advisory Board
Friday, April 11, 2014

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – As momentum gathers around the City for Champions initiative, another step has been taken to move the project forward.

Colorado Springs Mayor Steve Bach formally announced the names of the 16 community leaders who will serve on the Regional Tourism Act Advisory Board for the City for Champions initiative. 

In accord with Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade guidelines, the Mayor convened a nominating committee,* which presented recommendations that the Mayor was delighted to accept.

“These outstanding leaders will bring a wealth of knowledge to the Regional Tourism Authority Advisory Board,” said Mayor Bach. “Their diverse experience and backgrounds will bring a new set of ideas to the table, which through collaboration will further enhance our region’s opportunities for significant tourism growth.”


Mayor Steve Bach (City Chief of Staff Steve Cox, Alternate)

City Council President Keith King (City Council President Pro Tem Merv Bennett, Alternate)

El Paso County Commission Chair Dennis Hisey (El Paso County Commission Vice Chair Amy Lathen, Alternate)


Partner Project Representatives

Dick Celeste – United States Olympic Museum

Col. Evan Miller – United States Air Force Academy Visitors Center

Dr. Pam Shockley-Zalabak – UCCS Sports Medicine and Performance Center

Luke Travins – Colorado Sports and Event Center


Community Members

Susan Edmondson – Downtown Partnership

Julian Flores – Young professional/Entrepreneur

Lt. General Mike Gould (USAF-Ret.) – El Pomar Foundation

Becky Medved – Community leader

Doug Price – Colorado Springs Convention and Visitors Bureau

Doug Quimby – Attorney/Real Estate Development/RLF

Dan Stuart – Attorney/Community leader

Marvin Strait – Certified Public Accountant/Community leader

Lynn Telford – CEO, Care and Share



Bob Cope - City of Colorado Springs Economic Vitality/City for Champions Project Manager

Jeff Greene – El Paso County Administrator

David Neville – Urban Renewal Authority Chair


*Nominating Committee 

Merv Bennett - President Pro Tem, Colorado Springs City Council

Bob Cope - City for Champions Project Manager

Stephannie Finley - Executive Director, UCCS University Advocacy and Partnerships

Jeff Greene - El Paso County Administrator

Amy Lathen - Vice Chair, El Paso County Commission

Doug Price - President, CEO - Colorado Springs Convention and Visitors Bureau


The purpose of the RTA Board, as stated in Section 4-C of the Economic Development Commission proposal, is as follows:

“The local Regional Tourism Project Advisory Board (the “Advisory Board”) will advise the Applicant and Financing Entity on matters related to compliance with the Colorado Economic Development Commission’s (“EDC”) approval of the RTA Project application and the requirements of the EDC’s Resolution, including allocating State Sales Tax Increment funding of the City for Champions Project Elements.  The Advisory Board will be comprised of the Mayor, the President of the City Council, the Chairperson of the El Paso County Board of Commissioners, a representative of each of the four Project Element Sponsors, and community members appointed by the Mayor who have training or expertise in matters pertaining to the Project or Project Elements.”

Attached please find two documents, requested by members of the media – previous notes from the nominating committee work group.  The final list of board members are those included in the release.