City of Colorado Springs / City Council / News

Council appoints new members to Memorial Board of Trustees

At a special meeting today, Council appointed seven regular members and two alternates to the Memorial Health System Board of Trustees. Curtis Brown, Debbie Chandler, Dirk Draper, Jim Johnson, Marcy Morrison, Fred Vietch, and Jan Weiland were appointed as regular members; Steven Gold and Doug Stimple were appointed as alternates. Per the MHS bylaws, Karen Anthony, MD, MHS Chief of Staff and Dar Larson, Auxiliary President will continue to serve as ex officio, non-voting members of the Board. In a previous press release, Dar Larson was incorrectly listed as having been removed from the Board. Trustees will serve a term through December 31, 2012 or until the successful transfer of MHS to University of Colorado Health.       

Appointees were selected from a list of nominees submitted and evaluated by council members. Though there was no formal request for applications from the public, Council was provided with a list of citizens who had self-nominated by 5 p.m. on Thursday, May 3.   

Council President Scott Hente thanked the community for its abiding commitment to building a strong, regional healthcare system. “Council is first and foremost concerned with the care and well-being of our residents,” said President Hente. “My colleagues and I deeply appreciate the willingness of our citizenry to step up and be a part of the successful transition of Memorial Health System to University of Colorado Health. Thank you for reaching out. You were heard.”

Councilmembers called for the voluntarily resignation of MHS Trustees at a special meeting on Tuesday, May 1 following Board approval of a $1.15 million settlement agreement for the outgoing CEO, Dr. Larry McEvoy. Members who did not voluntarily resign were removed by Council on May 2 at 5 p.m. At Council’s request, the terms of the McEvoy settlement agreement are currently under review by the City Attorney’s Office. Council will receive legal advice on this matter from the City Attorney’s Office by May 16, 2012.