City of Colorado Springs / Commissions & Committees / City/County Drainage Board

Thursday, February 03, 2011




February 3, 2011


The City of Colorado Springs/El Paso County Drainage Board held its regular

meeting at 3:00 PM on February 3, 2011, in the in the City Council Chamber, City

Hall, 107 North Nevada Avenue.


MEMBERS PRESENT:     Brett Wyss, John Schwab, Ollie Watts, Emily Skalsky, Luanne Rubey, Jeff Johnson


MEMBERS ABSENT:        Stephanie Harrison


OTHERS PRESENT:         Tom Bonifas (City Engineering), Cheryl Callahan (City of Colorado Springs), Mike Cartmell (El Paso County),


Meeting called to order by Brett Wyss at 3:10 p.m.


Item 1:  Approval of the minutes from the January 6, 2011 Drainage Board Meeting 


Motion by Ollie Watts to approve the minutes

Motion was seconded by John Schwab


Motion passed unanimously 5-0


Item 2:  Discussion of January 6, 2011 agenda


No discussion or changes needed.


Jeff Johnson arrived at 3:12


Item 3:  Election of Drainage Board Chair and Vice Chair 


Brett Wyss opened the discussion up for board members to state their intent to run for Chair and Vice Chair. Both Jeff Johnson and John Schwab showed interest in either seat.


Motion by Ollie Watts for Jeff Johnson to become the Chair of the Drainage Board

Motion was seconded by John Schwab


                        Motion passed unanimously 6-0


Motion by Brett Wyss for John Schwab to become the Vice Chair of the Drainage Board

Motion was seconded by Emily Skalsky


                        Motion passed unanimously 6-0


Item 5: Housekeeping


Tom Bonifas informed the Board that applications are still being accepted for the three seats that will be open starting in March.


Mike Cartmell with the County handed out information on the Drainage Basin Fee Program that showed the fee fund balance as John Schwab had asked for in a previous meeting.



No further business

Meeting adjourned at 3:18 p.m.