City of Colorado Springs / Commissions & Committees / Public Safety Sales Tax Oversight Committee

Wednesday, February 02, 2011

Committee members in attendance: Richard Hansen, Joe Pelka, Veronica Sheldon, Tim Cassibry, Daniel Mullin, Ronald Ruckdeschel, Randle Case, Winfield Pate

Committee members absent: Cindy Corsaro, Pat McElderry, Marjorie Smith

Others present: Sue Autry/CSPD, Nina Rikoski/CSFD, Nancy McCauley/CSPD, Ken Hughlett/CSFD and Jena Rakoczy/CSPD

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by Chairman D. Mullin at 4:29 p.m.

Citizen Comment: No citizen comment.

Approval of Minutes:

MOTION: A request to approve the minutes from the November 17, 2010 meeting was made.  R.Ruckdeschel moved to approve the meeting minutes, R. Hanson second and R. Case abstained.  The vote was passed 7-0, with 1 abstaining. 


Business and Updates:

Department Updates


Budget/Fire - Nina Rikoski

N. Rikoski referenced the tax sheet handout stating this showed November 2010 sales tax; December 2010 sales tax figures would be released sometime in February 2011.  The trend shows the sales taxes revenue is up and all are hoping that this trend continued thru the Christmas season. 


N. Rikoski then referenced the Colorado Springs Fire Department Update handout.  She stated the updates to the stations would be completed by December 2011 when the grant expires.  In regard to Station 21, N. Rikoski stated the architect has been asked to redesign Station 21, possibly making it multi-leveled and without a community room.  This would be less expensive to build at this time as the Fire Department is envisioning building Station 21 with cash.  She stated the architect will be asked to leave room for the future addition of a community room.  N. Rikoski asked if the Committee would support the concept to allow the Fire Department to use the PSST funds in excess of its required balance toward the Station 21 project.  R. Hanson made a motion to approve this concept, T. Cassibry seconded.  The motion passed 8-0. 


Police - Nancy McCauley

N. McCauley advised the Committee that a vendor has been selected for the new records management system and, as a result, a number of the computers used by Patrol will need to be upgraded or replaced to ensure compatibility with the new system.  S. Autry added that Police is currently studying best practices on the use of officers? computers and will determine the number of computers necessary to maximize efficiency.  It is possible the upgrades/replacements will be funded by the City Information Technology Department's budget.  Should this funding not be available, Police would like the opportunity to make a presentation to the Committee about the records management system with the intention of requesting permission to utilize unspent funds from the 2010 budget to fund the computer upgrades/replacements.  N. McCauley asked the Committee if it would be willing to consider a request from the Police Department regarding funding for the computer upgrades/replacements should funding not be available from the City Information Technology Department's budget. T. Cassibry made a motion to approve this pre-request, W. Pate seconded.  The motion passed 8-0. 


Discussion & Action Items

Nominations and Election of 2011 Officers

R. Ruckdeschel nominated D. Mullin for a second term as Chairman, T. Cassibry seconded the motion.  D. Mullin accepted the nomination.  D. Mullin nominated C. Corsaro for a second term as Vice-Chairman, R. Hansen seconded the nomination.  Due to the fact that C. Corsaro was not present, D. Mullin stated that he would send her an e-mail letting her know that she had been re-elected to a second term with the option to resign from that position.  J. Pelka nominated himself to Vice-Chairman as an option if C. Corsaro chose not to serve in the position.  D. Mullin seconded the nomination.  It was unanimously agreed to hold the election of the Vice-Chairman at the next meeting.  A vote for D. Mullin as Chairman was passed 7-0, with 1 abstaining.  It was noted M. Smith mentioned in an e-mail that she is term-limited in May. 


D. Mullin welcomed V. Sheldon to her first meeting.  V. Sheldon introduced herself and shared a little bit about herself.  D. Mullin invited the rest of the Committee to introduce themselves and to also share a little bit about themselves. 



Next Meeting Date - April 6, 2011



The meeting was adjourned at 5:27 p.m.



Notes:  The minutes of the meeting were taken by J. Rakoczy.  Any omissions or corrections should be brought to the Chairperson's attention at the next PSSTOC meeting.