City of Colorado Springs / Commissions & Committees / Oil and Gas Committee

Oil and Gas Committee - Agenda
Thursday, March 22, 2012

Minutes of the Oil and Gas Committee Meeting

March 22, 2012

City Hall, 107 N. Nevada, Pikes Peak Conference Room

Colorado Springs, CO 80903



Councilmember Val Snider, Chair

Councilmember Brandy Williams, Vice Chair

Councilmember Angela Dougan – arrived 9:55, left 9:45, back 10:30, left 11:25

Dick Anderwald, LGD (Local Government Designee)

Chris Melcher, City Attorney

Randy Case, O&G Committee Member

Stephen Harris, O&G Committee Member

Michael Martin, O&G Committee Member

Jan Handke, O&G Committee Member

Chris Mendrop, O&G Committee Member – departed 11:25

Ed McCord, O&G Committee Member

John Maynard – Committee Member

Steve Cox – Mayor’s Office - departed 11:25

Howard Boigon – Consultant


Councilmember and Committee Chair Val Snider opened the meeting at 8:30 a.m.


Introductions were made by all present.


Larry Larsen, City of Colorado Springs Senior Land Use Review Planner

Banning Lewis Ranch: A Master Planned Community

Ultra Petroleum reps Brad Johnson, VP Operations; Doug Selvius, VP Exploration; Kent Rogers, VP Drilling and Mary Sharon Balakas, Director of Land discussed Ultra’s exploration plans for El Paso County.


Actions for Next Meeting

The Committee will begin to discuss drafting regulations regarding oil and gas.

Committee Chair Val Snider adjourned the meeting at 11:55 a.m.

Next Meeting: March 29, 8:30-11:30, in the Pikes Peak Room of Colorado Springs City Hall, at 107 N. Nevada Ave., Colorado Springs, CO, 80903